John Bartkowski, DrPH has been President and Chief Executive Officer of Sixteenth Street Community Health Centers since 1990.  During that time the agency has grown from a neighborhood health and nutrition site to a full service health care organization with five service locations.  Sixteenth Street provides primary medical care, behavioral health services, chronic disease management, HIV outreach, prevention and treatment, physical therapy and supportive social services and health education.  Sixteenth Street is known for its innovative environmental health programming and for its advocacy for access to health care and public health issues.

Dr. Bartkowski received his Doctor of Public Health from the University of Illinois – Chicago and holds a Master of Science in Community Health Nursing and BA from the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee.  Dr. Bartkowski has served on numerous Federal, State and Local task forces and commissions on the topics of public health, health care reform and the special health care needs of children.  He has been a member of Wisconsin’s Public Health Council, charged with monitoring the state’s progress toward the goal of providing affordable, accessible health care for all Wisconsin residents, the National Association of Community Health Centers’ Board and the President of the Wisconsin Primary Care Association.

JulieSchullerMDJulie B. Schuller, MD, MPH, MBA is Executive Vice President and Vice President of Clinical Affairs. An internist, she continues to see patients and has supervisory responsibilities that include all clinical areas, more than 200 medical providers and adjunct staff. She oversees all agency operations, facilities and health education programs including diabetes, asthma, HIV and obesity prevention. She leads the agency’s Executive Team and has oversight of agency Government Affairs and Community Relations.

Dr. Schuller plays a leadership role in several organizations devoted to excellence in provision of services to medically underserved and vulnerable populations. She is currently a member of the Board of Directors of the Wisconsin Collaborative on Healthcare Quality, the Wisconsin Primary Health Care Association, the Wisconsin Medical Society, La Casa de Esperanza, the Clinical Council of the Milwaukee Health Care Partnership and the Quality Committee of the Aurora Board of Directors.  She is Past-President of the Medical Society of Milwaukee County. Nationally she serves on the Clinical Committees of the National Association of Community Health Centers.

Board of Directors 

As a Community Health Center, Sixteenth Street is required to have half of the members of the Board of Directors be users of the services of the Center. At each monthly Board meeting, the insights of the consumer members provide valuable perspective on the importance of maintaining the highest quality of care. Other Board members are asked to serve because of their relationship with private sector entities or community organizations that relate to the work that we do.

All of our Board members serve as volunteers and these contributions have been made without compensation.  We are deeply grateful. Thank you .

Rick Walters, Board Chairman
Wells Fargo Advisors

Tom Gazzana, Vice President
Health Care Administration/Insurance – Ret’d.

Laura J. Arnow CPA, Treasurer
Arnow & Associates

Juan Ruiz, Secretary
United Community Center

Jose Avila, MSN, RN, FNP-BC, APNP
Alverno College

Lauren Lopez
Great Lakes Higher Education Guaranty Corp.

Wayne Heidenreich, M.D.
Immediate Past President
Northwestern Mutual

Kathy Hein
Les Aspin Center for Government
Marquette University

Steven K. Kulick, M.D.
Chief Medical Officer
ProHealth Care, Inc.

Teresa C. Mercado
Mexican Fiesta/WHSF

Ellen K. Murphy
UWM College of Nursing

Suzanne Sanicola
Columbia St. Mary’s

Levi Sosa
Gorham Export Packaging, LLC

Dr. Jeffrey Stearns
Aurora Sinai Medical Center